New Employment Eligibility Verification Form I-9 Issued

Employment Eligibility Verification Form I-9 is to be filled out by all new employees.  This is an important means for USCIS to make sure that all employers are complying with immigration laws and that the person who is being hired can legally work in the US.

The USCIS released a new version of the I-9 form.

  1. Employees may no longer present expired documents during the employment eligibility verification process
  2. Documents not containing an expiration date are considered unexpired documents

In addition, the new I-9 removes Forms I-688, I-688A, and I-688B from List A.  There are a series of other changes

USCIS has the the new Handbook for Employers (M-274) on all the requirements for the new form.

Leave a Reply

